Summer Reading List…What’s Yours?!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I’m a huge nerd. I may act like I’m big tings but in the end, I love sci-fi, chess and reading books (…That’s not a typo, friends…I said TINGS, not things…and in explaining that, I’ve proven that I’m a nerd…dang.).

I’m always reading something but this summer, I’ve given myself the huge task of reading a bunch of books before September 1st. Here’s are some reasons why:

1) I have more time to read than during the school year. I can actually CHOOSE these books over the readings I’ll do with my staff, colleagues and classes when I’m in school.
2) I love learning about story & storytelling (if you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that I love Jesus, family, community and story a lot), new words and new forms of wordplay.
3) I enjoying resting my brain in a good read. It’s really relaxing and helpful as I navigate through life.

So…as you can see from my picture above, the task is HUGE! But I’m excited. Shout outs to one of my young adults, Rachel Appadurai, for inspiring this quest out of her OWN summer list.

A brief reason for each book:
Tribes – A lot of good leaders I know love this book. It’s sat on my shelf for a LONG while and the other day I was like, ‘IT. IS. ON!’ Then I forgot why I said that. That has nothing to do with the book.

I, Issac, Take Thee Rebekah – Ravi Z is a brilliant mind and this is a brilliant book. I lost my old copy so I repurchased it and plan to relearn some marriage tips to improve on the home front.

Introverts in the Church – Great insight on many people in our churches who don’t feel comfortable in our extrovert-led assemblies. I’m 100 pages in so far and I’m learning lots about myself, Becca who is an introvert and others around me. It’s easy to think that because someone doesn’t worship all out like others I know that they aren’t into Jesus…maybe they just aren’t into THAT mode of worship…it’s insights like that I love.

Pop Goes The Church – Another book that sat on the shelf for almost a year. I love pop culture and want to learn how to use it to enhance what I do rather than run from it and teach others to do the same.

The One-Week Job Project – A 25-year-old who can’t figure out what he wants to do with his life does one job a week for a year. Nice insights on identity, choices, story and the people we meet along the way.

World War Z – Just in case there is a zombie war, I’ll be ready. I know it’s fake but you can never be TOO prepared, I say.

Mandela: A Biography – I remember in 1990 watching this man be released from prison with my dad on TV. I never knew that 20 years later, this man would be one of the most important figures in modern-day history not only in his native South Africa but the world over. An example of humanity, forgiveness, leadership, character and courage that can’t be denied. This book gives a great background to how he became the man that we know now…I’m 134 pages in with 400+ to go!

What projects do YOU have in mind for the summner?  Gardening? Memorizing poems or scriptures? Gaining or losing weight? Have you started yet? Already quit? What do you really want to accomplish this summer?

I can’t wait to see how this projects ends for me…I’ll keep you posted on the results!

One thought on “Summer Reading List…What’s Yours?!

  1. That’s an ambitious list my friend! You ARE a nerd! HA!

    I think I’m going to focus on only a couple of things this summer:
    1) making improvements to my blog,(thegloryproject.ca),
    2) learning Ableton Live (music software)
    3) enjoying listening to / learning from God.

    Looking forward to a great summer!
    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

